Home > General Updates > Fight or flight at 1 a.m., but absolutely no sleep

Fight or flight at 1 a.m., but absolutely no sleep

I realized yesterday while talking to someone in my office that I sounded like a crazy person. I blame sleepless nights and an infant that only feels comforted on my lap. That, and a comically electric storm.

Three nights ago, B-man woke up screaming. No warning. No tossing and turning. He went from zero to a screaming. Of course, nothing gets the blood and adrenaline flowing like your eight month old screaming. Momma bear had barely opened her eyes and she was at baby’s crib.

Then, the following night, a very hungry baby woke us up for a 1 a.m. snack. He fell asleep as soon as he was in my arms. What happened when I tried to lay him down? SCREAMING.

Last night the “tornado” sirens went off around 2 a.m. Look, Indiana, I’m a firm believer you should only wake someone up when there is an ACTUAL tornado. Seriously, enough of this, “sound the sirens, it’s windy” crap. Put a cork in it until there is an actual funnel.

As weird as it sounds though, I love holding him in the middle of the night. There’s just something about a warm, sleeping baby to make you feel like the most important person in the world. (I just wish he’d give us a straight eight hours every now and then.)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

